Tim Hampson's Beer Blog

The quest for the perfect beer

Oh to be in Manchester on a Twissup

with 3 comments

So where would I like to be today? Manchester.

The Olde Wellington was moved to its current site on giant wheels

A group of beer writers who are tweeters, well I suppose I can call myself a tweeter now. The old boundaries between the paper and electronic mediums have collapsed like the Berlin Wall did in November 1989. We are all communicators now.

The Twissup group is going to Manchester today and then on to Huddersfield. I am afraid, I cannot spare the time, horses need to be fed and a daughter is returning from Argentina where she has been a contestant on Total Wipeout and I need to pick her up from the airport.

When I was filming for a television programme about 18 months ago, a cock-up by the production team meant a 24 hour trip to Manchester resulted in a four day stay. It gave me a great opportunity to experience just some of the city’s great bars and pubs.

The ornate tiling is a delight

I sure those on the Twissup don’t need my advice on pubs to go to, but some of my personal favourites in Manchester city’s centre which I would love to visit again include the Marble Arch, on the Rochdale Road. A marvellous classic tiled Victorian gem which sells beers from the fantastic Marble brewery. It also does good food. I’ve yet to visit the new Marble brewery, but it is on my wish list of places to go to.

The Old Wellington, Cathedral Gates, is worth it just to enjoy its architecture. It is a 16th century building, which was somehow shifted on giant wheels during a redevelopment to its current location. It serves good Jennings too. Close to the main shops it can get very crowded at lunchtime.

The Britons Protection is a muddle of marvelous bars and corridors

The Micro bar, Unit FC16, Manchester Arndale, High Street, is home to the Boggart brewery and if as many people go on the Twissup as predicted it will soon fill up. It does some good guest beers.

There is a triangle of pubs where it is great to lose an hour or two. Within shouting distance are the Britons Protection, Rain Bar and Peveril of Peak. The Britons Protection, 50 Great Bridgewater Street, is a marvellous collection of small bars and corridors. The Rain bar, 80 Great Bridgewater Street is owned by J W lees. When it first opened in 1999 in a former Victorian warehouse on the Rochdale canal, it was a great example of showing that real ale can be served to a new audience in stylish surroundings and it is still bringing new people to good beer. The Peveril of Peak, 127 Great Bridgewater Street, is worth a visit just to enjoy its exquisite tiled exterior.

The Jolly Angler, 47 Dickie Street, a back street pub, it is a slightly old fashioned place, and one that is now a rarity. The Hydes Original Bitter might be seen as a retro beer, but when it is good it is very good.

Rain's bought real ale to a new audience

Knott, 374 Deansgate, there is something for everyone in this bar. It is a great place to meet up with friends, have a beer and then a second before deciding what to do next.

I’m dying to know where the Twissups goes, I’m sure they’ll find different places to drink which will equal and even better my personal choices. Manchester is that type of place.

Written by timhampson

October 23, 2010 at 6:57 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was in the Britons Protection a few months ago. It was late and I was just looking for a swift pint. My heart sank when I saw there was a choice of Tetley’s Bitter or … Tetley’s Bitter. But how wrong was I? It was sublime! Bearing a passing resemblance to Harvey’s, it possessed a textbook English hop character – subtle, taciturn, easy to overlook in this era of shouty prima donna hops. I went home recalibrating my thoughts on standard bitters.

    Jeff Pickthall

    October 23, 2010 at 8:15 am

    • Tetley’s is indeed a classic English bitter. It takes real skill to brew something with so much taste, which is low in alcohol.

      timhampson

      October 23, 2010 at 10:25 am

  2. […] original here: Oh to be in Manchester on a Twissup « Tim Hampson's Beer Blog Related Posts:Tetley's Bitter English Ale beer glass Most popular Bitter Beer eBay […]


Leave a Reply

